RSS Feed

Budget DIY Centerpieces

Budget DIY Centerpieces – around $65. Total.

Weddings are expensive. Period.

You think you are on a $10,000 budget. You are WAY off. The church, the wedding venue, DJ, photographer and catering cost $10,000. Alone. It didn’t include everything else that goes into a wedding. You didn’t even think about linens, dishes, the pastor, bridal party gifts, favors, cocktails, and your dress, the rings… The. List. Goes. On….

I get it. I was there. That’s my story above.

So, I thought I’d share what I did for my centerpieces. Maybe it will inspire you to be thrifty on these. Maybe not. Maybe it will bring other ideas to mind. Maybe not. But I hope it does.

We were on a 200-person guest budget. For everything. We ended up with about 160. Better to over-prepare than under, right? I thought so. I still do. It would be embarrassing to not have enough of something.

So, that being said, we had 20 tables of 10, so 20 centerpieces to make, plus we did 3 for the head table, so a total of 23.

I went to the dollar store and bought this cylinder vase:

You can probably find one you like at Ikea or a thrift store, or even a swap meet type thing. Total cost with tax was around $30.

I went to Ikea and bought a package of 24 floating white candles for $5.99 here:

Again, I’m sure you can buy packages of floating candles in several places, and they have plenty of colors, but this was exactly what I was looking for.

We went for a rustic theme. My family is from Minnesota and most of them still live there. Including my amazing parents. I asked my dad to make some wood rounds with our initials in a heart. He did them perfectly and they came out incredible. Cost: FREE

I also bought 3 of the packages of white, unscented votive candles & we put 3 on each table and around the venue for some extra light. These cost about $10 per package of 25. Total: $30

Our wedding colors were fuscia & dark brown. I filled the vases with fuschia bougainvillea. You can put whatever flowers work or fit best with your theme. We filled the vases with water, put the floating candle on top and this is what we ended up with! I couldn’t have been happier! I hope this helps inspire you or someone you love!


About simplymoxie

Wedding accessories to help make your BIG day extra special!! Moxie, noun: The ability to face difficulty with spirit and courage; energy, pep; courage, determination

Leave a Reply

